Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Fair-Weather Thoughts

I have about a billion thoughts that have been running through my mind lately so I thought I'd just type out a few of my many thoughts.

Fair-Weather Friends:
Why can't there be more fair-weather friends? Or hurricane friends for that matter? Why are there people in the world that don't care about you when the times get rough yet they claim to be your friend? There are a few people in my life claiming to be my friend, yet they are only there when times are GREAT or when the friendship is only benefitting them. You know who you are. I'm about to have serious surgury you big jerks (ok that was immature, sorry), could you manage to be the slightest bit supportive??

From the Mouths of Babes:
My child is now picking up choice words and making his own sentence out of them. The other day my 2 1/2 year old had a REALLY gross pullup so I put him in the bath. A little while later he came running out stark naked, sticks his butt in the air at me and says, " MOMMY! I CLEANED MY OWN ASS!!" And my grandmother wonders why I tell her he's not ready for church!

Pride:
McCain needs to get over his ego problem and put Romney in the VP slot on his ticked. It's what's best to balance out the Republican ticket and really save this country. Why can't people get over themselves for 2 seconds to do what's right sometimes??

Holiday People?
Are there a lot of people in the world who don't give a darn about any holidays? Even their own birthdays? Today is Hubby's birthday, yes, April Fools day; his mom thought the drs. were joking about labor! SO I called him to say happy birthday and he just says, "Eh, thanks for reminding me." He claims him and his family are not "Holiday People" .... well, I'm a Holiday Person so to all of you out there who are a Grinch...I say " BAH HUMBUG!".

Age Restrictions:
There are currently so many age restrictions on the young, I think there should be age restrictions on the old. Seriously, a 90+ year old woman in the bank yesterday couldn't even function! She couldn't hear the lady at the counter and didn't understand what she was talking about at all. My biggest peeve is that people over a certain age should have to re-take the driving test. They make me absolutely bonkers on the road. Don't get me wrong, I love our senior citizens, but even my grandmother agrees with me on this subject!

AHHHH...REST!:
So I'm in the hospital yesterday having my testing done and I got to lay on a table, was tucked in with pillows and blankets and THEN was given Morphine. It was seriously the most rest I've gotten in the last 7 years...since I started having kids. That should be a required outing for moms at least once a month. I informed the tech I'd be back next week.

Thought for the day:
No matter how bad off you are, there's always someone out there who's got it worse. After my bad news about emergency surgury yesterday, I'm trying to stitch this thought into my brain.

Have a great day!

Thursday, February 28, 2008

I'm crying hysterically....

But not for the reason you may think. I just read the funniest thing I've read in a long time and I thought I'd share...

*This is an actual letter from an Austin woman sent to American company Proctor and Gamble regarding their feminine products. She really gets rolling after the first paragraph. It’s PC Magazine’s 2007 editors’ choice for best webmail-award-winning letter.*

Dear Mr. Thatcher,

I have been a loyal user of your ‘Always’ maxi pads for over 20 years and I appreciate many of their features. Why, without the LeakGuard Core or Dri-Weave absorbency, I’d probably never go horseback riding or salsa dancing, and I’d certainly steer clear of running up and down the beach in tight, white shorts. But my favorite feature has to be your revolutionary Flexi-Wings. Kudos on being the only company smart enough to realize how crucial it is that maxi pads be aerodynamic. I can’t tell you how safe and secure I feel each month knowing there’s a little F-16 in my pants.

Have you ever had a menstrual period, Mr. Thatcher? Ever suffered from the curse’? I’m guessing you haven’t. Well, my time of the month is starting right now. As I type, I can already feel hormonal forces violently surging through my body. Just a few minutes from now, my body will adjust and I’ll be transformed into what my husband likes to call ‘an inbred hillbilly with knife skills.’ Isn’t the human body amazing?

As Brand Manager in the Feminine-Hygiene Division, you’ve no doubt seen quite a bit of research on what exactly happens during your customers monthly visits from ‘Aunt Flo’. Therefore, you must know about the bloating, puffiness, and cramping we endure, and about our intense mood swings, crying, jags, and out-of-control behaviour. You surely realize it’s a tough time for most women. In fact, only last week, my friend Jennifer fought the violent urge to shove her boyfriend’s testicles into a George Foreman Grill just because he told her he thought Grey’s Anatomy was written by drunken chimps. Crazy!

The point is, sir, you of all people must realize that America is just crawling with homicidal maniacs in Capri pants… Which brings me to the reason for my letter. Last month, while in the throes of cramping so painful I wanted to reach inside my body and yank out my uterus, I opened an Always maxi-pad, and there, printed on the adhesive backing, were these words: ‘Have a Happy Period.’

Are you fu*ing kidding me? What I mean is, does any part of your tiny middle-manager brain really think happiness - actual smiling, laughing happiness is possible during a menstrual period? Did anything mentioned above sound the least bit pleasurable? Well, did it, James? FYI, unless you’re some kind of sick S&M freak girl, there will never be anything ‘happy’ about a day in which you have to jack yourself up on Motrin and Kahlua and lock yourself in your house just so you don’t march down to the local Walgreen’s armed with a hunting rifle and a sketchy plan to end your life in a blaze of glory.

For the love of God, pull your head out, man! If you just have to slap a moronic message on a maxi pad, wouldn’t it make more sense to say something that’s actually pertinent, like ‘Put down the Hammer’ or ‘Vehicular Manslaughter is Wrong’, or are you just picking on us?

Sir, please inform your Accounting Department that, effective immediately, there will be an $8 drop in monthly profits, for I have chosen to take my maxi-pad business elsewhere. And though I will certainly miss your Flex-Wings, I will not for one minute miss your brand of condescending bull sh*t. And that’s a promise I will keep. Always.

Best,
Wendi Aarons
Austin , TX

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Scattergories

I've done this on Myspace before but I'll do this one here:
This is scattergories. You take the first letter of your name and answer the following:

What is your name....................Jessica
4 Letter word........................Just
Vehicle..............................Jaguar
City.................................Jacksonville
Boy Name.............................James
Girl Name............................Jennifer
Alcoholic Drink......................Jose Cuervo
Occupation...........................Janitor
Something you wear...................Jacket
Celebrity............................Jenna Jamison
Food.................................Jalapeno
Something found in a bathroom........Jewelry
Reason for being late................Jumped someone's car for them
Cartoon Character....................Jessica Rabbit
Something you shout..................JESUS! Ok, you shouldn't but people do.
Animal...............................Jack rabbit
Body part............................Joint
Word to describe you.................Just (yes, as in fair)

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Prayer For The Day

Today my daily parenting Prayer book reads:

"Lord, thank You that I can partner with You in raising my child and that I don't have to do it alone. I'm greatful that I can have clear directions from Your Word and wisdom as I pray to You for answers."

Reflection:

I don't think I pray enough to God regarding the upbringing of my children so therefore Im not hearing any answers. This is a time when I'm in desperate need of answers. My daughter is teething so she's fussy all the time. My 2 year old son is VERY 2 at the moment and has been extremely defiant on purpose lately. AND, my 6 year old is struggling in school and at the same time having a power struggle with my 2 year old.

I'm honestly starting to believe having children is a lot like juggling. One: super easy. It's very easy to keep your eye on one ball. Two: a little tougher. On a good day, with good concentration you can do well with 2, even though sometimes you may drop the ball. Three: you have to have talent and LOTS of practice. I am VERY much still in practice mode, but I feel like one day I may get the hang of it!

My challenge to you: Work full time, keep a 3000sf house clean, keep your spouse happy 90% of the time....all while juggling 3 balls!

Saturday, February 23, 2008

What Holiday Are You?

I've decided on weekends I'm going to post 1 or 2 random answers to surveys I've taken so you can get to know me. These are fun and often tell the truth about you!

The first quiz I took was...what holiday are you? The answer fits me to a tee!...




You Are Christmas



More than most people, you are able to find magic in life's small moments.

Traditions mean a lot to you, and you tend to be quite nostalgic.

You are a giving, kind person who really understands the true meaning of holidays.

You inspire others to be as altruistic and caring as you are.



What makes you celebrate: Tradition and a generous spirit



At holiday get togethers, you do best as: The storyteller. You like to recount memories with everyone.



On a holiday, you're the one most likely to: Give a gift to everyone you know

Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow

Sorry it's been almost a week since I last posted on here. I've had a different focus lately that takes precedence over blogging about trivial things. I've started to blog about my journey into weight loss. Within 2 days time it went from being something I was just moved to do, do a doctor's order. I suppose it is better off in the long run that I was moved to do it first though, now hopefully I'll have more than an order to do it, I'll have the drive I need inside me.

Nothing too much new going on in the world of me. My 2 sons have been absolute terror the last week or two and so it's amusing my husband has been calling me about 5-6pm every day just to make sure I haven't killed them or myself. I've also been trying to leave my baby girl with the babysitter a little more often so she can get used to being near someone else and not get so upset when I put her down for 2 seconds. I know I've spoiled her since she was born, but honestly it's ok. The boys never took to me like she has so it really means a lot.

Let's see, what else? I still hate my 9-5 and have really been focusing a lot of time lately into getting my life set up so that when my 83 year old boss finally retires, I can do something to where I can stay home more often and bring in the same income. I think between my jewelry and pampered chef and a part time job so I can get out of the house for my sanity, I can do it.

On a humerous note...my cat has turned into a dog. He meow's very loudly when he wants to be let outside and then he patiently sits by the door pawing the window when he wants to be let in. The other weekend someone on my street was having a yard sale and so I walked down there to see what they were selling. The cat followed me all the way down there and then as I was looking he sat at the end of their drive way waiting for me and then followed me back. When I got to give him food he actually leaps off of all 4 legs straight in the air.

Here's to another crazy day!

Sunday, February 17, 2008

And the pain sets in...

I'm sitting here so badly waiting for my pain to pass in hopes that I can get rid of it enough to be able to take myself to church. These are the days I sit here and wonder, "Why did I have my back surgury?"

Friday night I called the babysitter and treated myself to a manicure and pedicure. I've been under a lot of stress these last couple weeks and I was really feeling it on Friday. Both manicure and pedicure come with awesome massages and the pedicure is fantastic because you get to sit in the massage chair, which is fantastic because it feels very real. I think that's what did it though. I had turned up the intensity a little this time and I think it may have been too much for me. But why am I only feeling it 2 days later? Weird. Anyway, they added a new treatment to the pedicure section. You now get the paraffin treatment which inclues and extra leg massage. It felt WONDERFUL. AND as I was leaving, they brought in a new wine cooler and informed me that next time I come in, they'll be offering wine to everyone! YEAY! They are truly awesome in there. The salon name is VIP Nails and they are truly living up to their name, and they have some of the best prices.

Well, I guess if this pain doesnt go away I'm going to watch Mass on TV. I took a pill but now if the pain does go away I may be a little too woozy to drive myself anywhere.

Guess this gives me something else to pray about...Have a great Sunday!

Saturday, February 16, 2008

Valentine's Day ... New male bonding ritual??

With this blog, my intent is to talk about my experience...not nesessarily to lump all guys into this amusing stereotype.

So, it's Valentines day, and I got the babysitter to come over because I thought I would run to the local Publix and pick up ingredients for my husband's favorite meal and grab him a Valentines card from me and the kids, since I hadn't had time to do so earlier in the week. I'm not big into the whole Valentines thing...some times I do things, other times I don't, and I never expect to get anything. I think that's just rediculous behavior for a Hallmark Holiday anyway.

So, I get to Publix, and honest to God, it's more packed than it was when I went on the days before Thanksgiving and Christmas! I had to park all the way in the back of the lot even! Two out of three of every person coming out of the store was a man carrying some type of gift, ie: flowers or candy.

I'm in the store now and there are literally men walking around with these confused looks on their faces, as if they've never been inside a grocery store before. There were men talking to themselves as well. I over heard one man saying to himself, "No, if I get that I'll be on the couch." Are you SERIOUS?? Do some of you women out there put that much pressure on your man for a stupid holiday??

At any rate, I go and do my shopping and get over to the card section where there is literally 5 people standing in front of a rack of cards that probably had 15 cards left on it. It looked like a tornado had blown through only one section of the store...the Valentine's Day card section! So I'm standing there looking at the cards with the 5 other people and I saw groups of about 10 more people coming from each end of the isle, so I basically grabbed my cards and ran before I was attacked!

I go to check out, and that was ok, and I head out to my car. I of course, happen to be walking behind 2 (approx 45+ year old) men. They happen to be parked right next to me and suddenly I overhear, "Hank, them are some nice flowers you got there!" and the other says, "You got nice ones too, we did good buddy!"..."Well, I have to get home and give these to the wife before she kills me."...."Ok, see you next year buddy!"

OK OK....let's break this down. 1: Here we have two grown men in the parking lot congratulating themselves on a job well done...when all they did was buy pre-packaged flowers from a grocery store ON Valentine's day! 2: Are there wives out there who would freak out if they're husband's didn't come home with a gift on Valentine's day?? SHAME on you ladies! Do you really need a fake love fest day to feel good about yourself?? What's wrong with just having a celebration on your anniversary!? 3. See you next year buddy!? Is this time kind of new male bonding ritual? Go out ON Valentine's day with your buddy to the local grocery store and pick out the cheapest pre-made bunch of flowers, in a color your wife probably doesnt even like, and then congratulate each other in the grocery store parking lot?? C'MON! Are you serious? Don't get me wrong, its cute, but kind of disturbing at the same time! LOL

Well, all this being said, my Valentines was great, BECAUSE I didn't expect anything, and I got more than I could've wanted. Hubby came home fairly early and was so greatful for me making his favorite dinner and then not nagging him that he wanted to watch the race he missed on TV, he came and held me and told me how much he loves me in a very sentimental and emotional way, which is something he in particular, has a tough time with.

Hope you all had the best Valentine's Day ever!

Friday, February 8, 2008

Throughout These 40 Days

The subject of religion is a difficult thing for me to discuss. I was baptised and raised Roman Catholic, but several times, when I felt as if my religion wasn't "Going My Way", I strayed from the Catholic church and tried to find myself in other religions. I have attended several different types of services: Catholic, Baptist, Lutheran, Southern Baptist, Non-Denominational, Presbeterian, etc. However, I never found what I was looking for in other churches, I always came back to the Catholic Church, still un-satisfied.

Wednesday night this week was Ash Wednesday in the Catholic Faith, and I suddenly felt a calling, if you will, to attend mass. Now, it's been a while since I have attended service. For the last year or so I've made excuses all centering around the fact that I have 3 kids and my husband works on Sundays sometimes, but when I really look back, that's exactly what they were...really poor excuses. So, with my faith somewhat waivering, I felt it rather odd that suddenly I felt this calling.

So, I decided to get the babysitter to watch my two youngest children, and I took my 6 year old son to mass with me. Now, we were running late (for the reason why, see 3 posts ago with my son's shaved head) and we got there just in time for the first reading to start. Service seemed to be going as I always remembered, so at this point I still wasn't really sure WHY I felt this calling so strongly.

The beginning readings were through, and because this was Ash Wednesday, it was time for the blessing and then receival of the ashes to start the Lenten season. My son and I went up to receive the ashes and sat back down and watched the rest of the congregation continue to follow suit. Just when everyone was seated and the priest brought the ashes back up onto the alter, something started to happen. Someone who had sat there seated the whole time stood up and walked up front. It reminded me of the time I spent in the non-denominational church and people walked up front, suddenly feeling the spirit, to be healed or saved. So, after that one person walked up front, there were others that followed. People from all over the congregation that hadn't gone up to get ashes were now getting up! The priest realized what was happening and took the ashes back down and blessed all those who were coming forward.

Suddenly, I realized why I was called to mass that night. I was absolutely moved. Here were people who were sitting there in silence, suddenly relizing their faith and despite any embarassment or fear of rejection, they grasped that feeling, took a leap of faith and walked up to receive their ashes. In 27 years of attending Catholic services, I never saw anything like this.

Whether these people will turn their leap of faith into a journey, I can't say. But it really made me think about my own faith and come to a harsh realization that it's time to make some changes. That moment, I realized that the faith and feelings I was looking for in a church, I was never going to find. Everything I needed to feel was inside me all this time. I think a lot of times people look to a church or a church leader to define their faith for them, and that's ok, but it's when they expect the church to MAKE them faithful, that's when they're going to find disappointment. That's where I found MY disappointment. I was looking for a church to MAKE me believe.

SO, sitting there in the pew and observing such a beautiful thing made me aware of what I feel. I believe in God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. I am a happy member of the Catholic Faith. My belief in the Catholic church guides my faith, but my PERSONAL relationship with the Heavenly Father is what defines it. The folks who stood up to receive ashes, I would think, felt that same personal relationship.

Throughout these 40 days of Lent leading up to Easter Sunday, I am going to try to take a closer look at my relationship with God, and really give 100% to participating in my faith, so that I can ultimately enhance that relationship with Him. And, as I feel this is truly a start to my adult relationship with God, instead of giving up something for Lent, as I used to do, I'm going to follow my Grandmother's example and give back to those in need. Each paycheck during Lent, I'm going to purchase and then donate a box of food to our church's food pantry. I'm also going to spend the Lenten season crocheting an afghan for a needy family.

I encourage all of you, Catholic or any other faith, to maybe spend these days leading up to Easter Sunday, reflecting on Jesus' ULTIMATE sacrifice for us and try to think of what you can do to follow in Jesus' footsteps.

God Bless!
Jessica

Thursday, February 7, 2008

Breaking News.... Continued

Check out these 2 videos...


http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/22425001/vp/23051773#23051773

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/22425001/vp/23051533#23051533

So, I guess for now I'll be saying... VOTE MITT ROMNEY 2012!

Breaking News

Hoping its my imagination, but news is coming in that Mitt Romney is dropping out of the race for presidency.

I've lost all hope in the American people.

Expecting McHuckabee to be born soon...a sad day for the republican party.

Kids...

My son is a crazy child! I only wish I wasn't freaking out at the time so I couldve taken a photo of the 4" square he shaved in the middle of his head!

Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Not Sure What Scares Me Worse!

HillaryCare? Obama's crappy foreign policy? Or a White House that includes McCain as President and Huckabee as Vice President!?

It's really starting to disgust me that there are SO many American's that have not done their research before voting. I'm also starting to realize why more and more young voters are headed toward the democratic candidates. I'm a Repulican. I've said from the very beginning that I haven't watched a lot of the Democratic debates or anything on the TV. Well, the other day I thought I'd watch a few and see what all the fuss was about. Why are young people so drawn to Hillary and Obama? Let me tell you, their platforms sound SO pretty! Heath care for everyone, no more of our beloved troops over seas.... it sounds so nice! What I see happening is that young people are hearing those things and saying, "This is fantastic! I'll vote for them!", instead of saying, "Wow, it sounds great. Now, I'm going to go research how they can make those things possible." To me, those things sound too good to be true, but apparently, the young voters in this country are just going to sit back and take their word for it!

On the subject of pulling our troops out of Iraq, I've said my piece on that before so I'm really not going to repeat a lot of that again. My biggest point....ITS DANGEROUS! Hey! If you'ld rather the terrorists come here again, by all means, just let me know so I have time to leave the country.

Do you young democratic voters know just how much taxes in this country are going to be raised when socialized medicine is put into play? Do you realize how few choices you are going to have regarding your own healthcare? Yes, it sounds great that for once everyone in the country would have heath care. But, what kind of health care? Another issue here is that providing heathcare to everyone, without having to do anything for it, is going to seriously decrease the drive in people to work hard for those jobs that DO provide heathcare to its' employees. Therefore, the number of people on government assistance, like welfare and food stamps, is going to increase. Also, employers wont feel the need to offer insurance anymore, which means those of us who DO pay their own way and bought insurance for our families, are no longer going to have the choices we have now. I LIKE my insurance people! If my choices are taken away from me, I'm going to be extremely angry!

Let's move on to last night's not so SUPER Tuesday results. All the candidates pretty much did well in the states they were expected to win in. I was very disapointed to see that Romney didn't take California. I suppose if we see a McCain/Huckabee ticket and by some miracle, they are able to beat the democrats and by golly, things don't go as these middle of the road Republicans thought they would go, all we can do is sit back and say, " I told you so!"

Monday, February 4, 2008

Just because I have three kids....

So, I turned 27 today. I'm not really feeling my age. In talking to my other friends today, there are very few in my circle that are married and have a child, let alone THREE children. I went to the grocery store yesterday and my children were very well behaved for once and I STILL got dirty looks from people. When I first started noticing that people were staring, I thought maybe they were in awe of the fact that I attempted to go to the store by myself with three kids to begin with. However, when I really started looking, the looks seemed more like, "Oh my GOSH! How DARE she bring three kids to the store!! Can't she get it babysitter!? What if they give me cooties!"

Well, to all of you out there who want me to leave my kids at home when I go somewhere, let me explain something to you. I work outside of the house and come home to three kids every day, so Monday - Friday I don't feel like going out after work, I'm tired! My husband works 60+ hours a week right now. He doesnt get home on weekdays until 10-11pm at night, sometimes later, and then works weekends. Yesterday, for example, was supposed to be his day off but he took overtime and worked from 8am until 10pm. I'm sorry people, but I can't wait until he's off to take my kids to the store...we'd starve to death. What's that? You want me to get a babysitter? Do you people have any idea how much a baby sitter is for an infant, 2 year old and 6 year old?? I pay $10 an hour and thats a good deal! SO, If I want to go to the grocery store, with gas prices the way they are it would go something like this....

Fill the gas tank.... $50.00
Groceries... $150.00
Babysitter for three kids... $10/hr = $30.00

A trip to the grocery store alone because people can't handle the fact that I like taking my kids out.... NOT so priceless! $230!

Have a great day! :-)

Friday, February 1, 2008

HILARIOUS!

Oh my goodness this is GREAT! I saw this on another site and had to show it...hope you enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E76ogTt4kYs

Thursday, January 31, 2008

VERY Tense!

Anyone else watch the GOP Republican Debate last night? BOY OH BOY was the mood tense in that room!



My man Mitt called out McCain on his sleezy politics he pulled 3 days before the Florida primary and so they were fighting back and forth almost the whole night. My favorite part was, "How is it that you think you're the expert on me!?" says Romney after McCain was running his mouth as usual. I love it! I love when people think they know more about you, than you know about yourself! It amazes me, the guts some people have.



At any rate, I thought it was an awesome debate and really lifted my spirits after our loss in the Florida Primary. Now I'm focusing on talking to friends and family in states that are voting in the upcoming "Super Tuesday". I have made up a really nice flyer about Governor Romney and will be more than happy to send you one if you are interested in some facts about Mitt! Just e-mail me at JessSuz24@yahoo.com with your name and address and I'll get one right out to you! It's the least I can do to get out the word about my man Mitt!



I'm super excited today because I'll be receiving my UPS package of Mitt Romney stuff that I ordered so that I can help with the campaign. I only with I had ordered earlier and had the things on hand for the Primary in this sate! I am getting 2 buttons, a sign for my window and a Magnet for my car that says "Another Family for Mitt!".


So...LETS GO ALL YOU SUPER TUESDAY VOTERS! Vote Mitt Romney!

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Dissappointed

Very disappointed about last night's Florida Primary results. Mitt played a great round and hoping people will see that in other states.


Upset about Giuliani endorsing McCain today as well. Just disgusted really.


I'll blog more later when I'm not going to type in anger.


xoxo
Jess

Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Feeling Almost Presidential....(On a Personal Note With Mitt)

Today marks history in the life and times of Me. Today, for the first time, and certainly now not the last, I voted in the Presidential Primary Election! Of course I'm sure you know by my previous posts, who my vote went to (Mitt Romney, silly!). So, I'd like to tell you about my morning here at the Florida Presidential Primary election!

I knew where I had to be. I knew that within the next 2 hours I was going to officially make good on my personal promise to the Mitt Romney campaign. I had, after all been preparing for a few months now. Every day I've researched the candidates; what they're doing and what they believe in and compared it to my own thoughts, my own beliefs.

I had been laying in bed the last half hour in quiet thought and anticipation and my alarm was now going off. I shut off the alarm and crawled out of bed to start my day. Looking back, I don't know yet how I managed to function this morning with SO much going through my mind. It wasn't even the politics of it all, but was more that the things I did this morning reassured me that I was about to vote for the candidate that absolutely stands up for the things that I believe in. As I was getting my oldest son ready for school, my youngest son ready for pre-school and my daughter ready to begin her day with me at work I thought a lot about how Mitt Romney has 5 children and several grand-children and all of these things that I'm doing, he was doing not too long ago. Some of his children were probably waking up and doing the same things with their children, minus the campaigning on my side though. Here I was thinking, The Romney Family is a lot like me. I looked long and hard at my children this morning and really made it stick in my mind about WHY this election is so important to me.

I want my children to grow up and be instilled with strong family values. I want them to believe that every child deserves a mom and a dad. I want them to believe that every life is precious no matter how small. I want them to believe that if children are raised with strong family values, that THAT is how brilliant adults are made. I believe in strong family values, and I know that Mitt Romney does too.

As I began getting my own things together for work, I grabbed my checkbook and as I packed it into my purse, I began thinking about all of my bills that are due and how it is becoming necessary for us to really start to save some of our money. Again I thought about Mitt Romney. Here is a man who really did well saving his money and by that you can tell, this is not a lazy man. This is a man who gets up and gets the job done! He wasn't out there asking for a free handout, like a lot of people I know, he did what he had to do to support himself and his family and set himself up for a great future. Mitt Romney stands for a lot of great economical ideas. I believe in a stronger economy, and I know that he does too.

It was time to pack my kids into the car and head off to drop off my youngest son, and I caught a glimpse of my "God Bless the Troops" magnet on my car. I, personally, have never been a member of the armed forces...but...I've been a daughter of the Navy, a wife of the Navy, a cousin of the Army, a niece of the Navy, a daughter in-law to the Air force and the Army, and grand-daughter to the National Guard, and a friend to the Army, Navy, Air force, Marines and Coast Guard. Over the years, some of my closest family and friends have helped to keep this country safe from harm. Not only am I extremely appreciative and grateful for the work our troops have done and continue to do on a daily basis, but I believe WE can help make a difference in the lives of others overseas. I, like Mitt Romney believe that we need to give our troops all necessary resources to not only get the job done well overseas, but to FINISH the job. At this point all we need to think about is that we're there and it needs to get done. If we give a timeline, all that does is give our enemies a plan as well. I believe in a stronger Military, and I know Mitt Romney does too.

I drop my son off and head to the polls. I had never been there before, so with my Map Quest directions in hand, off I went. I found the polling place quite easily as there were "VOTE" signs everywhere. I drove up and saw a Giuliani sign...HA! Nice try! and pulled into the parking lot. It was cold this morning so I bundled my daughter up well and followed the signs. I felt like I was on my way to really make a difference. I have to say, I didn't pass many people on the way in, or out for that matter. However, with every person I did pass, I felt this overwhelming urge to stop and tell them who to vote for. Maybe this means I should be working in politics! I found my correct precinct table, and as usual, everyone was talking to and asking about my daughter. *She is GORGEOUS after all!* I signed the book and was handed my folder and ballet and went to an open booth. There I was in my own personal moment and in one long sweeping motion of the pen, the circle was filled in for Mitt Romney and it was as if the things I believe in, were now in stone. Although my daughter of almost 8 months couldn't vote, we both got our "I VOTED" stickers and marched proudly out of the building as part of one of hopefully many families for Mitt Romney.

I wish Mitt Romney the best of luck in Florida today. Although the account of my morning may be trivial, even somewhat naive to some at times, the morning's events have truly meant a lot to me. I hope that some of you can find yourself in some of the things that I said, and maybe, if you haven't already done so, get out there and vote Mitt Romney!

God Bless America!
~Jessica~

PS: On my way into work after voting, I saw a HUGE sign on the corner of a widely used road and thought...YEAY MITT! :-)

Monday, January 28, 2008

A Little More Politics....

Look people, I'm going to give it to you straight. There's a lot of buzz going around right now.

McCain got caught in some pretty bold lies recently regarding an apparent statement said by Romney, about setting a date to pull troops out of Iraq. The buzz going around from what I hear, is that if it came down to Obama vs. McCain ... some Republicans will actually swing more toward Obama. What this tells me, is that if you believe in Republican principles, you shouldn't waste your Primary vote!

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Mitt Romney is, in my opinion, the only Republican candidate who stands a chance in the General Election in November.

If you will be voting in your state's upcoming Primary Election, I ask you to take a moment and look at the things that Mitt Romney believes in. If you have the same beliefs, VOTE Romney.

For a Stronger Family, A Stronger Military and a Stronger Economy...

VOTE MITT ROMNEY

My Fellow Floridians....

Tomorrow, January 29th, 2008, is the Presidential Primary so if you are a registered Republican or Democrat, please get out and vote.

If you do not yet have a candidate to support, or your decision can be swayed....

Vote Mitt Romney! :-)

Friday, January 25, 2008

Feeling Proud....

....So I'll say it outloud! I'm feeling proud about a lot of things today and no one in the world probably cares and might disagree about what I'm proud about, but I'll say them anyway...

Because it's MY blog and I'll say what I want to! :-)

I'm PROUD to be 26 (27 in a week) and a mom to three beautiful children. YES, I know how old I am, and NO it's none of your business how old I was when I had my first and if it's important to you, YES I was married when I had my first.

I'm PROUD to be married. It may be great playing the field, all you single folks out there, but I love coming home and being loved every day!

I'm PROUD to be a Republican. Now, if you count since I was first able to vote, it's taken me 8 years to decide on a party. I chose a party based on MY beliefs and my beliefs alone. If you're voting FOR Gay Marriage, Pulling the Troops out of Iraq before we're finished, Letting the Government run our healthcare, Abortion, and taking away a man's right to own a gun, that's fine! We'll still be friends, I just wont go to the polls with ya! *wink*

I'm PROUD to be a renter. I have enough going on in my life that I'm not ready for a decision about where I want to be permanently planted for the rest of my life. If I hear another person ask when we're buying a house, I might snap.

Ok...maybe more to come later! LOL

Mitt has my vote....and he should have yours!

Ok, maybe some of you might think my title is too bold, but after last night's GOP debate, I'm absolutely moved beyond words.

First I would like to start with my overall opinion of the debate. I watched from start to finish and was very impressed with the behavior of all the candidates, in that it didn't turn into a "bash my fellow republican candidates" party. Everyone for the most part was on their best behavior and spoke more about what they themselves believed in, rather than what another candidate is or is going to do. That being said, I'm DISGUSTED with the manner in which several of the questions were asked. It was as if all they were trying to do was create negativity and a fight between the candidates. SHAME on the people that decided on those things. You obviously don't care about the true nature of the problems facing this country and you're looking for a cat fight between candidates to make better T.V. SHAME ON YOU!

Next, I'd like to discuss the recent Democratic Debate, before I get to last night. I don't watch the Democratic Debates. I don't care about what they have to say. I made the mistake of watching one of them and spent the entire night being disgusted because they are all WAY too liberal for my blood. I'm a conservative. That's what I am. I don't believe in same sex marriage; I believe everyone has the right to gun ownership; I believe the war in Iraq, although not always handled properly, was a GOOD idea; I believe that GOD should be left in the pledge of allegiance, etc. It was brought up at the debate last night that at the last Democratic Debate Hillary Clinton said regarding the war in Iraq, "We need to wave the white flag of surrender and set a date for withdrawal of the troops." Ok, I'm going to try to say this lightly.......IS SHE JUST STUPID??? Let me start by saying this: No one LIKES going to war! (Ok there are a few sick people in the world, but I'm speaking of the general population.) No one LIKES that many men and women have lost their lives in the fighting of this war. And I'll be one to admit that there have been many mistakes in Washington regarding the war. All of that being said.....I'm going to make this very clear and then I'm going to drop it, because I fear I may go on a rant longer than humans will be able to read....If we remove our troops from Iraq, two things are going to happen. First, the terrorists are going to party, because they've won. Then, they are going to bring the bloodshed onto American soil. Our troops overseas KEEP THE WAR AND BLOODSHED OFF AMERICAN SOIL! So, SHAME ON HILLARY CLINTON and the rest of the Democrats who were arrogant enough to say that THEY are the reason morale is so good now. The ONLY people who are responsible for the successes overseas are our Veterans and the members of the United States Armed Forces!.....Oh, it makes me want to be sick!

Ok, so let's get onto last night and my man Mitt. Not only did he get a GREAT amount of air time but he was FANTASTIC in his answers....presidential if you will *wink*. He was able to keep up very well with the other candidates and was able to get some great 'one liners' in that I feel kept him grounded. He was able to explain a lot about what he'd like to do to get this country back on it's feet and I think he did so with the same conviction I used to see in Ronald Regan. He has a way I think of drawing people in. I sat in front of my T.V. absolutely moved when he spoke and even found myself cheering and rolling on the floor with his comment in regard to taking on Hillary AND Bill Clinton in November. I honestly think he's the ONLY Republican candidate, if he gets the nomination, that can beat Hillary in the general election. He believes in change because as he states it, "Washington is broken!" and I believe him 100%. I want a change. The comments made by the Democrats scare me. I DO NOT want my children to grow up in the world that this year's Democratic candidates have planned for us!!!!

If you want a change in Washington, if you want the best for your children's future, if you want to keep REPUBLICAN CONSERVATIVE IDEAS in the white house AND have the big issue's of this country tackled, Mitt Romney is your man! He's the only one that many of us believe can beat the Democrats in the general election!

I hope you all have a great day, and if you're a registered Republican, I'll look forward to seeing you at the polls on this coming Tuesday, January 29th, 2008 and VOTE MITT ROMNEY!

Thursday, January 24, 2008

Are you serious???

In order to keep my blogging a bit more organized, and to devote this blog to the positive changes going on in my life, I've decided to start a new blog. It's an extension of this blog if you will. It's devoted to those little twerks through out the day that have a negative affect on your life.

If anyone has seen the newer Harry Potter movies or read the Harry Potter series of books, you'll notice in the movie that there's something called a Penseive (pardon, if i spelt it wrong). This is a big bowl where the wizards can take poor memories that are bogging their minds down and put it in the bowl so their whole minds and bodies can be focused on the more important and positive things in their lives.

In a sense, my new blog will be my penseive. I invite you all to read it (See the link to the right). (HA! I say "you all" like I actually have readers! LMAO!)

See you there!

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Feeling Great, Feeling Positive

So yea, the night before last, with the "brother escapade" was not fun, but yesterday things seemed to turn around for me.

First, I felt a sudden relief after blogging and talking to my best friend and my grandmother about the issues with my brother. A weight was lifted off my shoulders as I feel like I expelled SO much negative energy.

Next, I have had an EXTREME amount of energy the last couple of days. I think the one cause is that I'm feeling so much better emotionally, but on the other hand, I think the one procedure that the doctor did on Friday during the surgery is REALLY helping! I'm so excited because that's the biggest thing I prayed for when I started being followed by the Dr. was just to have more energy so that I'm a better mom, wife and just a better person in general. I was SHOCKED yesterday because usually after work I have to go home and sit for a while before I can do anything. Yesterday I got home and I literally just kept going! I cleaned and I played with my kids and then I still had energy left to cook dinner and finish one part of the coat I'm crocheting for my daughter! YEAY!

Also yesterday, my notary certificate and stamp came in the mail so now it's official! I'm a Licensed and Bonded Florida Notary! (I'm not sure why I'm so proud, it was just a 3 hour class to get it!) But what the heck! It's my party and I'll be proud if I want to! LOL

On a very personal note....one thing about being a Florida Notary, is that unlike most states, here as a notary you can solemnize marriages! Now, my best friend Katie hasn't been with her boyfriend for too long, but he's a GREAT guy! I joke with her that I told her that he was perfect for her before she even knew it! LOL So, since I found out I was getting my notary, it's been a running joke that the day I got it in the mail that I was going to drive down and marry them whether they liked it or not (which, for legal purposes I have to say that that is against Notary rules LOL). So yesterday I talked to her and told her I was excited I got my package and she said she had to talk to me. She told me that her and Fau talked about it and if I wanted to, they would LOVE it if I married them when they were ready to do so! I know it might not be right around the corner but I don't think she knows just how much that meant to me! See, Katie only wanted her Grandfather to do it. It meant the world to her that someone in her family was able to marry her and her fiance when they were ready to do it, but, unfortunately her grandfather recently passed and so because of how sentimental that is to her.....it is very much my honor to do the marriage for her. I love my Katie!

We are also getting on our feet financially and my husband got news yesterday that after only 8 months with his company he's first in line for a promotion as soon as the new person is trained for his position. This means better money and MUCH better hours for a family man. I'm so happy and proud of him!

So, although 2008 was off to a little rocky start, I think it's going to be great after all!

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

Follow-up...

I have plans for a great blog today, but I wanted to do a quick follow up about my unexpected visit to the doctor's office yesterday. Don't worry dad, I'll try to keep the details to a minimum....I should start a blog called, "The Things I'm Leaving Out For My Dad's Sake" LOL.

So sure enough my incision wasnt healing right and had come open, so doc put some anti-bacterial ointment in there and sewed me back up. He did have the photos back from the surgury which I was so excited to see! (OH Dad you are SO lucky I didn't get a copy to post LOL). He explained a lot about the procedures they did and showed me the scarring he found, which he said he believes IS old endometriosis scarring but the fact that I've been pregnant and breastfeeding usually causes the lesions to stop growing temporarily. So, basically now as Nina is weaning and I'm not planning on any more children in the near future, if ever, this is when I need to start watching my symptoms and really paying attention to my body.

I should be getting all my biopsy results on 2/1/08 so stay tuned for that!

Monday, January 21, 2008

Made it to another day...

Well, I made it through the surgury! I had an asthma attack coming out of anesthesia, which they claim is normal when you have asthma, but I'm convinced it was my subconscience fighting waking up, from what I'm positive was the best sleep I've gotten in years!

They surgury went well from what I understand. The doctor only saw a little scar tissue, which is great, because if the diagnosis is Endometriosis, it means its only in the beginning stages. During the laproscopy they were able to do biopsy's of both ovaries as well as send in the lining of the uterous for testing. My follow up appointment is 9am on February 1st, 3 days before my birthday *wink*!

I do, however, have to go back to the office today and have my incisions checked because the one started bleeding again this morning. I'll follow up on a blog tonight or tomorrow on how that goes. I'm not a doctor but it didn't look pretty to me!

I know he doesn't get online much, but I want to give a HUGE thank you to my husband for being my rock this past weekend. I love you honey! And to everyone else who was praying for me, it means more to me than you know! (and thanks for the phone hug dad!)

Thursday, January 17, 2008

My Man Mitt...A Great You Tube!

I thought this was great! Enjoy!

Under The Knife

So, I'm having surgury tomorrow at noon. This procedure has really been a long time coming as I have been having issues for years.

Truthfully, I'm scared. I don't know what my problem is; it's not like I havent had surgury before. I think the day I started having kids, I became a total scaredy cat! I cant stand heights anymore, in fact I have nightmares about my kids falling off of tall buildings. I don't like any water where I can't see down to the bottom and if my kids get within 5 feet of that water, I'm spazzing out! So, I guess with the surgury, I'm afraid something will go wrong and I wont be able to be here for my kids. It's a very routine surgury, but they of course gave me that whole rant about how "things can happen" and how theres a small chance but they have to tell you. *rolling eyes* Well, I wish there was some kind of waiver I could sign to skip that speech. I, Jessica, give my permission to skip the whole speech from the doctor about how I could die. I think that would be HIGHLY affective in keeping my blood pressure down ahead of time, don't you?

Oh well, I report at 10am tomorrow morning. Going to make sure I add a few extra prayers in the morning. Is that bad that I pray more when I'm in trouble, or is that normal?

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Coming Out of the Political Closet


I support Mitt Romney for the 2008 Presidential Election!
Well, since I'm now officially volunteering for the Mitt Romney campaign for the 2008 Presidential election, I feel it's time to totally come out about it.
It was a great win for Romney last night in Michigan winning the GOP!
“Tonight marks the beginning of a comeback,” Mr. Romney said in declaring victory at a hotel rally in Southfield. “Tonight is a victory of optimism over Washington-style pessimism.”
Vote Romney 2008!!!

A Cup of Coffee for the Soul

Every morning, as part of my "Jess is Great in 2008" goal, I wake up and on the way to work I have to cups of coffee....for my soul. In other words, I play a song two times that gets me motivated for the day. Right now in my car, I'm enjoying a hot and fresh cup of Mary J. Blige's Just Fine.

You know I love music
And every time I hear something hot
It makes me wanna move
It makes me wanna have fun
But it’s something about this joint right here
This joint right here
Its makes me wanna…..Woooh

Let it go……Can’t let this thing called love get away from you
Feel free right now, go do what you want to do
Can’t let nobody take it away, from you, from me, from we
No time for moping around, are you kidding?
And no time for negative vibes, cause I’m winning
It’s been a long week, I put in my hardest
Gonna live my life, feels so good to get it right
So I like what I see when I’m looking at me When I’m walking past the mirror
Don't stress through the night, at a time in my life
Ain’t worried about if you feel it
Got my head on straight, I got my vibe right
I aint gonna let you kill it
You see I wouldn’t change my life, my life’s just…..

Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Just fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
You see I wouldn’t change my life, my life’s just fine

Feels so good, when you’re doing all the things that you want to do
Get the best out of life, treat yourself to something new
Keep your head up highIn yourself, believe in you, believe in me
Having a really good time, I’m not complaining
And I’m a still wear a smile if it's raining
I got to enjoy myself regardless
I appreciate life, I’m so glad that it's fine

So I like what I see when I’m looking at me
When I’m walking past the mirror
Aint worried about you and what you gonna do
I’m a lady so I must stay classy
Got to keep it hot, keep it together
If I want to get better
See I wouldn’t change my life, my life’s just…..

Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Just fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
See I won’t change my life, my life’s just fine

I ain't gon’ let nothing get in my way(I ain't gone let nobody bring me down, no, no, no)
No matter what nobody has to say(No way, no way, no way)
I ain’t gon’ let nothing get in my way
No matter what nobody has to say

Feels so good, when you’re doing all the things that you want to do
Get the best out of life, treat yourself to something new
It’s a really good thing to say
That I won’t change my life, my life’s just fine

Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Just fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
See I won’t change my life, my life’s just fine

So I like what I see when I’m looking at me When I’m walking past the mirror
Don't stress through the night, at a time in my life Ain’t worried about if you feel it
Got my head on straight, I got my vibe right I ain’t gonna let you kill it
You see I wouldn’t change my life, my life’s just…..

Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
Just fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, fine, ooooh
You see I wouldn’t change my life, my life’s just fine


Enjoy!

Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Breaking News!....Jessica's Into Politics!!!????

I know....I can't believe it myself. I HATED politics in school. I HATED history. I basically hated anything that had to do with government, period! And here I am volunteering for my favorite candidate's campaign! CRAZY!

I feel important, like I'm doing something great for people. I got all registered in time with the Republican party, so this will be my first time ever being able to vote in the Primary on January 29th here in Florida. I am VERY excited.

My boss is a DIE HARD Republican. He's very outspoken on the issues and who he likes in general so I'd really like to thank him for instilling some of that in me. He made me understand what can happen if the "wrong person" gets in office. He is a retired Orthopaedic Surgeon so all of the medical issues are very important to him. I didn't understand the issues with health care in America until he explained them to me.

I'm not going to sit here and talk about the candidate that im FOR....that's a WHOLE other blog baby! But I will say this....

To all of you young people out there (and even some of you not so young) who don't want to vote....PLEASE reconsider. I was just like you. I didn't understand the issues, and I hated even just talking about politics. I URGE you to please register to vote and even if you don't want to devote as much time finding out about the candidates as I have, I ask you to go to www.ontheissues.org/quiz and click on VoteMatch quiz of 2008 presidential candidates . This will take you to a VERY short quiz that asks you your opinion on all of the important issues and then matches you with the 2008 candidate who answered the closest to you as well as what political party your answers are most like. Even if you vote for the canddate who's most like you in your beliefs, thats better than not voting at all!

VOTE!!!

Monday, January 14, 2008

Faith Hope And Love Accessories


My other goal this year is to get my jewelry site up and running and get some consignments out to some local bridal boutiques!


What do you think about this custom necklace I did for my friends wedding? She loved it!

Jess is Great, in 2008!

Recently, my best friend told me the exact thing I needed to hear to stop being a door mat. "Do you like everyone?" she asked." I replied, "No," and she said, "Then not everyone has to like you!" Believe it or not, as simple as those words my be, they freed me.

My entire life, I've lived on egg shells. Always afraid I'm going to say or do something to make someone angry or not like me, no matter how it affects me. The truth is, living that way can really make you attract the scum of the earth; those people that think it's ok to walk all over you. I'm saying it outloud and proud as I type Katie...."It's OK! The WHOLE world doesn't have to like me for ME to go on living!"

In taking what my friend said VERY much to heart, I've been motivated to not only change my life, but to find out who I really am. For, when you stop doing and living ONLY for others, you start to realize what it is that you love; what those things are in life that make YOU who you are.

So this year, it's time for me to make some changes. I'm going to be Jessica, the non-doormat, who knows (or at least is on the way to knowing) who she is! And here's an announcement to go with it...

If you are reading this, and your my REAL friend, you support me making these changes in my life, and you are with me through and through...through good times and bad....Let me know and KNOW that truly in my heart I love you as my friend, and your friendship means the world to me. I love you for who you are, and I appreciate that you love me for ME, even if that means we don't always agree! If you are reading this and you're pretending to be my friend, you only want to be my friend when it benefits you, you only want to be my friend in the good times or you just dont care....then to you I say, BYE! Seriously! I'm tired, I'm starting fresh, and I have too many FANTASTIC people and things in my life to be bothered!

I am proud to say... I am Italian and English. I'm a mom and a wife and my husband and kids come first. I'm short, overweight (but not for long ), and I have health problems I'm trying to fix. I'm a lover of music and dancing and ALL the arts. I have lived all over the US. I ate squirrel and LIKED IT! I like to go fishing and hunting. I can be afriad of the dark. I have a horrible sweet tooth and would love nothing more than to travel to Italy and drown in a sea of cannoli. I'm a Catholic. I'm a Conservative Republican who has the utmost respect and admiration for all those who serve our country. I hate people who think they deserve respect when they don't give it to others. I'm an RSVP crazy person. And Katie, although she may not always know, is by FAR my best friend, but more than that she's an inspiration to me in my quest for my cause...."Jess is Great in 2008!"

I wish everyone a very Happy, Healthy and Prosperous 2008! God bless you all!